Last update: 03/12/2012

Honors and Awards

  1. 2011 IEEE Signal Processing Society Best Paper Award for the paper: Sidiropoulos, N.D., Davidson, T.N., and Luo, Z.-Q., "Transmit Beamforming for Physical Layer Multicasting," IEEE Transactions on Signal Processing, Vol. 54, No. 6, pp. 2239–2251, 2006.
  2. Best Paper Award, 2011 IEEE International Conference on Communications, for the paper: Y.-F. Liu, Y.-H. Dai, and Z.-Q. Luo, "Max-Min Fairness Linear Transceiver Design for a Multi-User MIMO Interference Channel".
  3. 2011 SIAM Fellows, for the development of novel applied  mathematics ideas and methods for signal processing and digital  communication.
  4. EURASIP 2011 Best Paper Award for the paper: Z.-Q. Luo and J.-S. Pang, “Analysis of Iterative Water?lling Algorithm for Multiuser Power Control in Digital Subscriber Lines,” EURASIP Jour. on Applied Signal Processing, May 2006.
  5. 2010 Farkas Prize from the Institute for Operations Research and the Management Sciences, for outstanding contributions to the field of optimization.
  6. 2009 IEEE Signal Processing Society Best Paper Award for the paper: Luo, Z.-Q. and Zhang, S., “Dynamic Spectrum Management: Complexity and Duality,” IEEE Journal of Selected Topics in Signal Processing, Special Issue on Signal Processing and Networkingfor Dynamic Spectrum Access, Vol. 2, No. 1, pp. 57–73, February 2008.
  7. Fellow of IEEE, 2007.
  8. 2004 ICASSP Best Student Paper Award (with Ph.D student M. Kisialiou).
  9.  2004 IEEE Signal Processing Society Best Paper Award for the paper “Robust Adaptive Beamforming Using Worst-Case Performance Optimization: A Solution to the Signal Mismatch Problem” which appeared in IEEE Transactions on Signal Processing, (coauthors:Vorobyov and Gershman), February 2003.
  10. ADC Chair in Digital Technology, University of Minnesota, since April 2003.
  11. Canada Research Chair in Information Processing, McMaster University, July 2001-July2004.
  12.  Best Paper Award in the International Conference on Optimization Techniques and Applications, for the paper “Optimal Transceiver Design Via Convex Optimization”, December2001, Hong Kong.
  13. International Research Fellowship from K.C. Wong Education Foundation (Hong Kong) through Chinese Academy of Science, 1996.